Urban Sketches – New York

Dear Auntie Moonbeam

Well last week was a bust! Sick with strep from Monday onward put me outta blogging condition completely. Ugggh…

Incidentally, if you’re interested in pursuing another illness I do not recommend strep. **Emphatic head shake**

On the plus side I finally had time to watch Downton Abbey. So, silver lining I suppose…

Here’s the thing about the sketch today – I’m pulling this from my archives.  I know I said I’d post new stuff each week but I’m blaming sickness for this week’s miss. I barely left my apartment last week so consequently I don’t have any fresh material to share.  Sorry – I’ll do better next week, promise!

A little story to go with today’s sketch – first picture me smack in the middle of Times Square on that little sliver of pavement looking for a place to sit. Ha! Good luck!

So I did the next best thing. I laid down a plastic bag and sat on the sidewalk. My head was inches from careening yellow cabs. Needless to say I was in heaven.

Then along comes this guy, another tourist like moi. Except this guy was armed with a fancy camera to capture the moment. We exchanged the standard fish outta water stories (where are you from? What do you think of NY?) Then he asked if he could take my picture. Sure, why not? As long as I get a copy. Nice guy that he was these shots arrived in my inbox a couple of weeks later.

Okay, that cab looks far away, but trust me - others were muuuuch closer!

Okay, that cab looks far away, but trust me – others were muuuuch closer!

NY sketch in progress

I’m grateful that guy came along.  I love meeting people while sketching – you get the best stories out of those encounters.  And also I’m vain enough to admit I’m happy to have a photo that proves I sat on the dirty ground in Times Square!

Here’s the final sketch:

NY TIMES SQUARE

Note the coffee stain. That’s how you know it’s authentic!

Yours in better health!
Becky

2 thoughts on “Urban Sketches – New York

  1. WOW! these sketches are amazing! You are so good and I’m glad you stopped by so I could in turn, see your work. Keep ’em coming.

    • Thanks Brad!

      I love the use of colour in your drawings. I hope to one day get brave enough to try my hand at colour…

      Thanks for reading and I look forward to seeing more from you too! :)

Thoughts? Comments? Insight?

