Green (eyed) Monster

Dear Auntie Moonbeam

In the immortal words of the Monty Python boys – and now for something completely different!

Today we’re leaving the realm of my capabilities and venturing into the kitchen. Crossing the threshold from ‘stuff I do well’ into ‘stuff I do okay’….

I know a woman – she’s gorgeous, she’s smart, she’s talented in the kitchen. I know, you kinda want to hate her, dontcha?

Sadly she’s also kind, caring and an all round sweetie so I can’t hate her, dammit….

But I can certainly be jealous of how awesome she looks – that’s allowable, right?

So naturally I must know her secret and here it is – the Green Monster.

Sorta sounds like a 50s era schlocky B movie doesn’t it?

The Green Monster is more than just a healthy smoothie. It’s a whole movement. You can read more about it on Lindsay’s food blog.  While you’re there you must check out her chicken pot pie.  It’s de-freakin’-licious!

I didn’t change the recipe much from Lindsay’s post, apart from doubling the peanut butter because I like me some peanut butter. Also, make sure you get the proper oily natural peanut butter. It gives such a rich taste.

Oh, and every once in a while I like to throw in a small amount of chocolate chips for pure indulgence.  Don’t tell my mom!

20130426-075731.jpg

Here you go:

  • 1 cup vanilla almond milk
  • 1 tbsp ground flax seed (don’t buy whole seeds, they don’t break down in your body, you need the ground stuff)
  • 1 banana (nothing too green)
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 ice cube
  • 2 cups baby spinach (or kale
    if you prefer)

Toss everything in a blender and mix until smooth. Note – given the nature of the ingredients you’ll never get a totally lump free texture. At least I don’t, but then I use an immersion blender and I don’t know if that makes a difference. Regardless, the taste more than makes up for the strange appearance!

Green Monster

The great thing is that you can add all sorts of different ingredients depending on your taste preferences. Just be aware that experimentation may mean this will happen:

Lindsay's text

I like to make mine before I leave for work and drink it on the subway.  I wonder if I should offer to share with my fellow morning commuters?   Those zombie-like buddies o’ mine might appreciate a little boost of vitamins & chocolate!

Subway Green Monster

Happy weekend Auntie Moonbeam!  I hope you’ll try a green monster this weekend.  I swear within a week you’ll feel more energized and (this part isn’t proven) but I’m convinced it’s doing a good job with my skin too!

6 thoughts on “Green (eyed) Monster

  1. The Green Monster movement lives on!! I always feel like I want to share mine with random people on my commute as well because I feel like they need to know how darn good and healthy they are!!

  2. Yep, tried and liked! Gav said it was “ok” and Owey liked it! Finally I can get some veggies/fruit into that little dude! Have you tried it without the pb? I’m thinking of replacing it with Gr yogurt, but wondering if it’s the pb that makes it taste good.

    • Hey lady,

      Glad to hear you tried it – getting people past the gross appearance to actually drink it is the hardest part!

      I’ve never tried it with Greek yogurt, I did try it with regular yogurt once and it gave it a tang I didn’t care for. But then I’m not a big yogurt fan so that might have affected my opinion…

      I also haven’t taken out the PB ’cause I think it adds a big chunk of flavour. But hey, experiment and report back to me!

      Becky

Thoughts? Comments? Insight?

