DIY Nursery Decor – Part Two

Dear Auntie Moonbeam

As promised today is the final breakdown of the nursery decor. It’s been a week with this room and I’m almost sad it’s over. Too bad there aren’t more babies on the way, ’cause I’d love the chance to do another room like this!  I wonder if I can convince Preggers to have a second right away…..

The first piece is super simple and took ten minutes. With all navy in the room I wanted a pop of yellow to balance things out. In fact I was staring a yellow paint chip trying to figure out what I could paint when this idea popped into my head.

All this took was a printed sign with the letters cut out to reveal paint chips below. Crazy simple and super cheap (Only cost was the Ikea frame)

All this took was a printed sign with the letters cut out to reveal paint chips below. Crazy simple and super cheap (Only cost was the Ikea frame)

This next piece is perhaps the most personal touch in the room. Preggers has a couple of pals with boys (myself included) which means her lil’ bundle of joy has ready-made playmates awaiting his arrival. I wanted to add something to the room to signify their welcoming of him to the group.

This is a pencil sketch on raw wood canvas.  More evidence of my obsession with hand ettering....and more to come!

This is a pencil sketch on raw wood canvas. More evidence of my obsession with hand lettering….and more to come!

I get a little misty just thinking of my friends having babies so let’s move right along before I go full gush and embarrass myself.

Finally we have the mirror. I mentioned this a while back in a post about my dumpster findings. This was a big score. Mirrors that big and substantial can be quite costly. As it is I only ended up paying for a sample can of paint and the mounting hardware.

Here’s how I found it:

Surprisingly it came with the painter's tape.  I suppose the original owners were considering redoing it themselves before chucking it.

Surprisingly it came with the painter’s tape. I suppose the original owners were considering redoing it themselves before chucking it.

Here’s what it looked like after I sanded off the peeling paint finish.

Fun fact - this was the first time I used my orbital sander.  It was difficult not to go "Wheeeee!" while I used it....

Fun fact – this was the first time I used my orbital sander. It was difficult not to go “Wheeeee!” while I used it….

Originally I had planned to paint the whole mirror but when I saw the nice wood grain my idea shifted. Wouldn’t it be nice to contrast the wood grain with a deep blue?

Preggers had a saying she liked and I thought this would be the perfect place to put it. I laid out two strips of painters tape on the lower face of the frame.

Then I found a font I thought worked with the sentiment of the quote (think romantic but playful) and I drew the letters onto the tape.

Don't forget the guidelines!

Don’t forget the guidelines!

As with my other hand lettering attempts this is where tracing a print would have been faster but there’s something I enjoy about free styling. I think it comes back to this idea:

Sure computers guarantee accuracy but this way adds charm. And what’s a nursery without charm?

With an exacto knife I cut out the tape so that only the letters remained.

I kinda like the look of it just like this....is that weird?

I kinda like the look of it just like this….is that weird?

Then I painted one layer of oil based primer and two layers of latex paint (thanks YHL tutorial!)

Remember, thin layers.  That's the key, thin layers...

Remember, thin layers. That’s the key, thin layers…

You juuuuust make out the letters below

You juuuuust make out the letters below

This next part is important – I didn’t peel off the letters by hand because with three layers of paint on top there was a strong likelihood I’d end up pulling off strips of paint. Instead I cut out the letters and carefully pulled off the tape in small pieces.

Yuck, chipping

Yuck, chipping

As you can see even with the extra care small portions of blue paint did come off revealing the white primer below.

Not the look I was hoping for. Sure I coulda left it and walked away, after all from a few feet away you couldn’t tell the difference.  But I knew I’d be hanging it right at eye level above the change table so I wanted it to be as perfect as possible. I decided to give it one last pass.

With a super fine brush I carefully filled in the small gaps and chips around the letters.

There's somthing satisfying about this part, it was almost like drawing the letters again

There’s something satisfying about this part, it was almost like drawing the letters again

After all the letters were fixed and filled in it was a matter of attached mounting hardware on the back and putting this bad boy up!

Stylish & pretty!

Stylish & pretty!

I’m not gonna lie to you – this project was labour intensive, more so than I would have predicted. I totally didn’t see that coming, the idea seemed so simple.  Turns out it was the execution that was the bitch!

But you know what? I’d do it all over again. After all it’s not every friend (and new mom) who’d be okay with hanging a piece of garbage in her nursery. Which is why I love Preggers and wish she and her family all the best as they head into the home stretch!

Cheers for a happy weekend!

Becky

Update: For information on how to create the fabric map in the background click here.

Linking up to:

The Shabby Nest

Liz Marie Blog
6 thoughts on “DIY Nursery Decor – Part Two

  1. Sometimes I feel you are in my head! When
    you said you are obsessed with how letters
    look! It’s a bit eery! I was over at Fraser’s
    woodshop awhile back! They have Saturday
    sessions for folks to drop in. Free sandwiches even at lunch! You’d love it.
    I’d like your sander!!

  2. I’d love to see a full on picture of the pencil drawing of the kids and come out to play invite – the drawing looks amazing.

  3. The mirror is lovely- so cool to see its evolution from trash to hanging on my wall! Can’t believe that you went in and perfected all the edges around the letters! I definitly appreciate the attention to detail there, since lets face it, I’ll probably be the one staring at it the most while changing diapers! Everytime I look at your blog I end up back in the nursery just hanging-out and soaking up all the prettiness!

Thoughts? Comments? Insight?

