DIY Back Painted Glass

Dear Auntie Moonbeam

Before I get to today’s project (and it’s an uber simple one) I hope you’ll indulge me with a little light housekeeping (read: random announcements and links)

What’s coming up next week…

Monday (Victoria Day for us lucky Canucks!)

Sketchbook tour! Next to my phone my sketchbook is what I need the most to keep me organized and creative. Full of sketches, lists, calendars and budgets it’s like a low tech Pinterest board. ‘Cept messier…and with far more spelling mistakes.

Wednesday (Bonus two post day)

  1. New Room Reveal – Sophisticated Teenage Girl Room.  Here’s a glimpse:
For a teenager with style to spare!

For a teenager with style to spare!

  1. BIG announcement! To say I’m jazzed for this would be putting it mildly. Here’s a quick preview:
Does the shape give it away?

Does the shape give it away?

Friday (Booyah! TGIF!)

Another edition of Dumpster Findings! Last time I scored some awesome goodies. This time I found smaller and crazily useful items. I can’t wait to show you! Hint: I said goodbye to a boob light fixture and hello to….well, you’ll just have to tune in to find out!

Blog Lurve….

Here’s the funny thing about entering the strange new world of blogging – you quickly meet some like-minded folk! Here’s a collection of awesomeness from some of my new friends. And when I say friends I mean people I’ve never met face-to-face or heard their voices. Yet I know them to be lovely! :)

Who knew DIY Board & Batten could be this easy? Well, as long as you can do some basic math and handle power tools!

I’m gonna save me some serious moola with these grocery shopping tips. Imagine substituting mushrooms for chicken! Genius!

Thanks to this smart lady I actually added some custom code to my website! You know those cute little social media buttons? I made those! Me! Check out her tutorial here.

$13 for a front porch makeover? Even a cheapo like me can afford that!

I love this kind of project – working with what you’ve got. Now that’s ingenuity…or maybe she just had too many socks and needed to scrap some!

I’ve been itching to try my hand a project just like this for a while. Thanks to the upcoming long weekend I might finally get around to it. And PS, aren’t the shoes gorgeous??

Back Painted Glass

I love the look of back painted glass – especially for a kitchen backsplash. Wouldn’t that be sleek in some hot colour?

Then one day I was pulling a bunch of old frames from the closet and I came across a stash of floating glass frames. You know the kind? With no matting so all you see is the frame and the image?

I was staring at the frame and I thought, wouldn’t it be cool if this was back painted glass?

Then I had the most revolutionary realization of my life – back painted glass is glass that…wait for it….has been painted from the freakin’ back!!

I know! Mindblowing, right??

Hot Pink = Hot Damn!

Hot Pink = Hot Damn!

Merry ol' Montreal, in case anyone is wondering

I actually like the way the paint bled a little around the edges. It compliments the sketchiness nicely.

So I removed the glass from the frame, taped off a small square in the middle and (still amazed by my own brilliance) painted the glass from the back.

I love how the bright pop of colour livens up an otherwise cool hallway. I am so smrt! S-M-R-T!

Happy long weekend to my fellow Canadians and to the rest of you, have a great weekend!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Linking up to:Liz Marie Blog

6 thoughts on “DIY Back Painted Glass

  1. ;) Your posts always make me laugh or smile! I can’t wait to see your upcoming teen post and your announcement!!! Love the back painted glass that color is awesome!

Thoughts? Comments? Insight?

